The Turn of the Screw

'You believe me, don’t you?’

Bly, Essex. Angelic 9 year-old Flora and precocious 12 year-old Miles are the picture of innocence, rescuing injured birds and playing make-believe by the shady lake. But, as a new governess arrives at the manor to take care of them, disturbing secrets emerge from beneath the undulating waters. Questioning the truth behind the children’s stories, the governess finds it increasingly hard to tell reality from her nightmares – until she is forced to take action. Did you really see her? Or was it just a trick of the light?

Henry James’ classic ghost story, chillingly reimagined by playwright Rebecca Lenkiewicz (Her Naked Skin), is an enthralling mix of Halloween thriller and psychological mystery, drawing in both believers and sceptics alike. The play has been used as inspiration for West End classic The Woman in Black and adapted for Netflix’s The Haunting of Bly Manor.


Director’s Talk

Attend our FREE Director’s Talk on Mon 7 Oct to get an insight into the making of The Turn of the Screw. Book your seat at our Director’s Talk


Dates
3 – 26 Oct 2024
Prices
Previews | £12.50* – £19.50*
Mon – Thu & Matinees | £19* – £27*
Fri & Sat | £21.50* – £29*
Under 26s | £8 all performances
+ 70p QNext fee
Access Details

BSL interpreted | Wed 23 Oct| 7:30pm


Audio Description | Available at all performances after Wed 9 Oct

Age guidance: 12+

Book a ticket

Thu 03 Oct 2024
7.30pm
Fri 04 Oct 2024
7.30pm
Sat 05 Oct 2024
7.30pm
Mon 07 Oct 2024
7.30pm
Tue 08 Oct 2024
7.30pm
Wed 09 Oct 2024
7.30pm
Thu 10 Oct 2024
7.30pm
Fri 11 Oct 2024
7.30pm
Sat 12 Oct 2024
2.30pm
Sat 12 Oct 2024
7.30pm
Tue 15 Oct 2024
7.30pm
Wed 16 Oct 2024
7.30pm
Thu 17 Oct 2024
2.30pm
Thu 17 Oct 2024
7.30pm
Fri 18 Oct 2024
7.30pm
Sat 19 Oct 2024
2.30pm
Sat 19 Oct 2024
7.30pm
Tue 22 Oct 2024
7.30pm
Wed 23 Oct 2024
7.30pm
Thu 24 Oct 2024
2.30pm
Thu 24 Oct 2024
7.30pm
Fri 25 Oct 2024
7.30pm
Sat 26 Oct 2024
2.30pm
Sat 26 Oct 2024
7.30pm

Creative team

Henry James
Writer
Rebecca Lenkiewicz
Adapted by
Anna Marsland
Director
Anita Singh
Producer
Melody Wright
DSM
Emily Bardwell
ASM

Plan Your Journey

Food & Drink

Keep in Touch

© 2024 Queen's Theatre Hornchurch | Havering Theatre Trust Ltd established in 1953 | Registered in England No 524845 | Registered Charity No 248680 | VAT No 246 7715 38